Local Change Happens Locally

Albert Kaufman
2 min readJan 21, 2021
More @ qcpdx.org

I enjoyed the inauguration greatly. It’s good to see a smooth transition to our next President and the executive branch of government. I loved all of the inspiring talks and smiles and smartness and heart on display. I do think a lot can be done at the higher levels of government. And, local change happens locally.

During the last couple years of the T***** administration it became clearer and clearer to me that in order to affect change around me we were going to have to organize locally. No matter what issue you care about there are different levers to make change happen. I outlined part of what I’ve been up to regarding banning gas-powered leaf-blowers here. And, this is probably a perfect example of a national (if not international problem) — we’ve built and use a tool that is detrimental to the user and everyone who has to suffer the noise and air pollution from the use of the tool.

At the federal level, sure, someday these will be outlawed across the land. But until that day it’s going to take a lot of work on the local level. Our group, QCPDX.org has efforts at the neighborhood, city, county and Metro level going on. The one that’s had the most effect on my life is the campaign I’ve had going on the Nextdoor.com platform for the past 5 years. I have no doubt that by reminding my neighbors of the danger of gas-powered leaf blowers to their health and quality of…

--

--

Albert Kaufman

Join my monthly newsletter, The Eleven, to learn what I'm thinking about and my recommendations for saving the planet. http://tinyurl.com/albertkaufman1111